Nine Executive Council members elected by acclamation

On Saturday, The NewsGuild’s 2023 Nominating Conference was held virtually and nine nominations were made for nine positions, electing three new members of the Guild’s Executive Council. 

The current members of the Executive Council will continue out their terms through the conclusion of the 2023 Sector Conference this July in St. Louis. 

Diane Mastrull was elected for a first term as Sector Chairperson. Mastrull is an editor at the Philadelphia Inquirer and president of The NewsGuild of Greater Philadelphia, TNG-CWA 38010. Mastrull will replace Martha Waggoner, who served as chair since 2011.

Jon Schleuss was elected for a second term as President. Schleuss is a member of the Media Guild of the West, TNG-CWA 39213. Schleuss was a data and graphics reporter at the Los Angeles Times prior to becoming president in 2019. 

Marian Needham was elected for a third term as Executive Vice President. Needham is a member of the Buffalo Newspaper Guild, TNG-CWA 31026. She was the administrative officer in Buffalo and hired by the international union in 1990, first as director of contract administration, and later, as a sector rep.

Kathy McCabe was elected for a first term as Region 1 Vice President. McCabe is treasurer of the Boston Newspaper Guild, TNG-CWA 31245. McCabe is a city editor at the Boston Globe. 

Dan Gabor was elected for a second term as Region 2 Vice President. Gabor is president of the Washington-Baltimore NewsGuild, TNG-CWA 32035. Gabor works as a senior data coordinator at the AFL-CIO. 

Sandra Tan was elected for a first term as Region 3 Vice President. Tan is the former president of the Buffalo Newspaper Guild, TNG-CWA 31026. Tan is a reporter at the Buffalo News and served as local president for six years. Tan will replace Kevin Flowers, current Region 3 Vice President. Flowers is the president of the Erie Newspaper Guild, TNG-CWA 38187.

Michael Cabanatuan was elected for a fifth term as Region 4 Vice President. He’s a reporter at the San Francisco Chronicle and has been a Guild activist for the better part of two decades. 

Bill Baker was elected for a second term as Region 5 Vice President. Baker is the unit chair at the New York Times, leading hundreds of workers on a one day strike late last year. He’s been a proud union member (CWA, IBEW, NewsGuild-CWA) in telecommunications for most of his career. 

Andrew Carillo was elected for a first term as Region 6 Vice President. Carillo is the first vice president of the Denver Newspaper Guild, TNG-CWA 37074. Carillo will replace Jeff Gordon, who’s been a regional vice president since 2015. Carillo is a senior and lead organizer for internal health care at SEIU Local 105.

No other candidates were nominated, so all candidates were elected by acclamation.